Mini Sticky Date Cheesecakes

Today I’m celebrating! Tomorrow I start a new job and I’m super excited, and ridiculously nervous. What’s the best way to curb your nerves? Making something sweet!

Then I remembered that I’m terrible at making decisions when it comes to dessert. For example, if I ever go to a restaurant, I generally look at the dessert menu first. Why? I need to know what’s on offer in the way of sweets, to then plan how much room I need to leave for said sweets.

However, there is generally a major internal conflict that happens when there are more than one menu items calling my name. Do I be the absolute glutton and order 2 desserts? Do I hope that my other dinner guests order something I want so we can go halvsies? Generally I try for the latter option.

This is why I thought it be best to combine a couple of desserts that I love; Sticky Date Pudding and Cheesecake!

So this is how I did it….

Ingredients

Base:

100g butternut snap biscuits, crushed

20g butter, melted

Butterscotch Sauce:

8 dates, chopped

½ cup brown sugar, firmly packed

40g butter

½ cup cream

Filling:

375g cream cheese, softened

½ cup caster sugar

½ tsp vanilla bean paste

1 egg

2 tbsp plain flour

Method

1. Combine crushed biscuits and melted biscuits in a small bowl, once combined spread evenly between patty pans.

2

2. In a small bowl, place chopped dates and cover with boiling water. Allow to stand for 2 minutes before draining water out.

35

3. Pop the soaked dates, brown sugar and butter into a small pot and heat up until it bubbles up, but be sure to keep stirring it. Once the mixture it quite sticky in appearance, add the cream and let it bubble away for a bit.

4. Using a slotted spoon, put the dates and some attached sauce into a separate bowl, leaving behind the majority of sauce in the pot. Set aside to cool and thicken. I find putting it into the freezer helps speed things up!

5. In a larger bowl, add the cream cheese, vanilla and caster sugar. Beat together until thoroughly combined, and then add the egg and flour. Beat mixture on high speed until it is like and fluffy.

6

6. Fold the cooled date mixture through the cream cheese, then spoon into each patty pan.

9

7. Top each of them with a small amount of the remaining sauce and pop into the oven for about 30 minutes. They will puff up and appear jiggly, but slightly firm. Allow to cool in the oven with the door ajar. Store in the fridge for a few days.

7

I placed them onto a cake stand together, so they wouldn’t get lonely.

2s

But then I decided that one must be sacrificed, so it was placed on a plate with some whipped cream and a little of the left over butterscotch sauce…. yum!

1s

So tell me, if you were forced to give up sweet or savoury foods for life (ignore the health value), which would you choose?

7 thoughts on “Mini Sticky Date Cheesecakes

      1. The only saving grace is that the town I live in has a really crappy supermarket so craving things has to be limited to what is readily available. Unless you want to drive 100km to Super IGA. But chocolate is usually the winner, unless I’m going through a stage where I want chips or potatoes.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

