Gluten Free Lime & Coconut Friands

I now work with a Coeliac and he said to me the other day, “if anything has flavour, it’s not gluten free”. I then proceeded to offer him a scrunched up piece of paper for lunch. He was not amused.

I then decided to take on the challenge and try and make a sweet that is delicious and gluten free! Now I did a lot of research, and found that many recipes ask for all sorts of ingredients that are very foreign to me, such as xantham gum…. I find this stuff just a little out of my depth. I prefer to stick with ingredients I’m familiar with, such as almond meal!

Now, I decided that I’d go with something that I know is almond based – friands. Did you know that Australia is the only place that calls them that? Most other places, such as their homeland France, call them financier. I prefer friand, as it apparently means ‘dainty’, which I think is very cute!

Here is how I did it….

Gluten Free Lime & Coconut Friands


Ingredients
6 egg whites
185g butter, melted
1 cup almond meal
1 1/2 cups icing sugar, sifted
1/2 cup rice flour
Finely grated zest of a lime
Juice from 1/2 a lime
1/4 cup desiccated coconut

Icing
1/2 cup butter, softened
3 cups icing sugar
Juice of half a lime
Toasted coconut chips to decorate

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 180° C and grease the muffin tin of choice – I used square ones.
  2. Whisk the egg whites in a bowl until they become frothy, then add the melted butter, almond meal, icing sugar, flour, lime zest and juice and desiccated coconut. Stir until well combined.
  3. Divide the mixture up between the muffin holes, then bake in the oven for 20 minutes. Remove from the oven, cool in the pan for five minutes, then place on a wire rack.
  4. For the icing, use a hand mixer to beat the softened butter, lime juice and icing sugar together until it is light and fluffy.
  5. Ice your friands however you wish, then top them with toasted coconut chips. Enjoy!

So what do you do with your left over egg yolks? I made cupcakes!

White Chocolate & Pear Cupcakes

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 1/4 cup sugar
6 egg yolks
2 1/2 cups plain flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 cup milk 2 pears, peeled and cubed
Handful of white chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 180° C.
  2. In a mixer, cream the butter then add the sugar, beating well.
  3. Reduce speed to medium and add the egg yolks, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  4. In a separate bowl, combine the flour and baking powder.
  5. Add to the creamed mixture alternately with the milk, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Stir in chopped pears and chocolate chips.
  6. Pour batter into patty pans and bake for 30 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.
  7. Once cooled, ice with any icing of choice. I had a lot of Lime Icing left, so I used this!

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Lime & Coconut Friands

Leave a Reply

